Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold radically different views about whether to share important information in science, business, and academic research. Although some may believe it will benefit society as a whole, others argue that it is better to keep information confidential. Undeniably, we live in an era where innovation and technology take place almost every single day. A business may require information on their client’s preferences in order to improve their service or products. Those data are also instrumental in enhancing the quality of our lives, as they may become a vital resource for developing new technology. For example, with the advent and advancement in medical technology, every patient can now ease their pain during the recovery process. On the other hand, disclosing some valuable information can be treacherous for some reasons. A case in point is that you can’t confirm how the information will be used. It may be the chance that where the data is stored is intentionally or accidentally leaked and sent to outsiders, or even worse, being hacked by terrorists, thus posing a threat to the safety of your life. Additionally, the business competitor may steal your database and surpass it. In conclusion, while sharing information freely can have a positive impact on business and thus change our lives, I believe that the cons outweigh the pros since we can’t handle the loss of personal information being leaked to people who cannot be trusted. As a result, such action should be restricted in certain conditions and require authorities to censor it.