There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the stress students go through in order to accomplish their academic goals is brutal. For this reason, many argue that non-compulsory courses such as sports, art and cooking classes should be replaced by exam subjects. This essay will shed light on the importance of having extracurriculars in school. To begin with, non-academic subjects, contribute to the holistic development of students by focusing on aspects of their growth beyond academic knowledge. For example, art classes encourage creativity and self-expression, allowing them to explore their emotions and artistic talents. Moreover, this fosters a sense of self-awareness and emotional intelligence, which are essential life skills. Another reason is the significance of physical education classes not only promote exercising but more importantly teach students the importance of regular exercise and a healthy lifestyle. Additionally, this subject can instil lifelong habits of physical activity, reducing the risk of obesity and related health issues. Third and most important, every student is unique and possesses different talents and interests. Non-academic subjects allow scholars to explore and develop these aptitudes, whether in sports, arts, or music among others. Consequently by eliminating these subjects ’ schools may overlook the potential skills and passions of individual students, leading to missed opportunities for potential career paths, personal growth and achievement. Nonetheless, an important argument in favour of this idea is the fact that by eliminating non-compulsory courses schools can make more efficient use of class time. In fact, teachers may have more opportunities for in-depth coverage of academic topics during classroom hours. Thus, potentially reducing the need for excessive homework or outside tutoring. In conclusion, although there are some obvious academic benefits of only focusing on mandatory courses, like time efficiency, these subjects play a crucial role in students ’ development.