Some people perceive shopping as a form of self-indulgence, while others think that people should only buy things they need. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to the prompt, people have contentious views on the case of shopping, some think this is a form of self-indulgence, while others try to buy only the absolute necessities. In my opinion, the latter is mostly a positive development for two reasons. However, there is one drawback that will be discussed. First of all, thoroughly managing economic resources to buy glossaries is a good sign because instead of buying a large chunk of unnecessary things, we are now considering only those which we need the most, thus saving a lot of money. Specifically, a recent survey of the South Asian economy has found that an average Bangladeshi household can save approximately 20% of their yearly income when people lead a conserving lifestyle. This is clearly a positive thing because individuals now have the option to divert their extra savings on child health care, housing, education etc. Secondly, excessive buying patterns and leading a luxurious lifestyle are disadvantageous because it causes various mental health issues, such as e.g., depression, insecurity, and inferiority complexity, which is a common phenomenon observed in recent years. Notwithstanding, this frugality has one disadvantage: the loss of product diversity. For instance, among the African countries Mozambique has the least buying power, thus products in their shopping malls are all alike. Consequently, this product homogeneity causes customer dissatisfaction, hence less money is circulated in the market resulting in economic stagnation. In conclusion, having a preserving lifestyle is primarily a positive thing for the two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect viewpoint and the loss of product diversity has long-term consequences.