Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some people who believe that art related classes like painting and drawing are pointless compared to other subjects like natural science, and it should not be forced on students. However, I completely agree with this because I believe art is relative. First, art subjects are relative from person to person, which means that it is not a constant or something we all can agree on it. It is rather a personal opinion and not a fact. Drawing from examples is relative because some people may see some paintings as a masterpiece, while others see them as normal overrated art. Thus, there is no point in teaching it and spending time dealing with it. Rather, a student can study these subjects on his own. The second reason for my conviction is because art in itself is affected by the environment and the culture a students came from, resulting in a messy class and a disturped mentality. This is not a thing anyone would want to see in a class. Instead, the class should be oriented and coherent as possible to avoid cultural diversity. So for example, when we have two students from two different backgrounds, and we tell them to express their ideas using art, we get two different ways of representation, which lead to conflict and confusion. To sum up, we should not at all force students to art classes because at the end of the day it is nothing but a personal taste that will not be going to improve on anything. Students should instead practice art by themselves.