Some people like to try new things, for example, places to visit and types of food. Other people prefer to keep doing things they are familiar with. Discuss both these attitudes and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

We as a society comprise lots of individuals with different personalities and preferences. One particular example has something to do with whether folk prefer to discover new stuff in life or to be content with their surroundings and stick with their daily routines. Firstly, we take a look at the behaviour of the group who would love to try new things, whether going to a new diner just opened around the corner, playing at an arcade centre that is hidden in the alley or just simply changing your outfits for a Sunday morning. These people usually seek for the excitement in new things. They can have a strong sense of curiosity and can be very adventurous and will ask the question "What?" and head-on with it without hesitation. As a result, the life of an individual who feels fulfilled in discovering a new thing can be very exciting. Moreover, they can feel surprised to discover a new side of themselves. However, constantly looking for a new thing can raise their bar of expectation. As a consequence, excitement and curiosity can also meet with disappointment. It is a roller coaster of emotions, like how one of my friends reacted when realizing that the sushi at the new restaurant was not actually as delicious as the one we ordered at home every weekend. On the contrary, though, it is always stable, and calm when we refer to the second group of people who find joy in doing the same things over and over again. They feel familiar with seeing the same things and doing the same work every day. For example, they know for sure that they will not have to drive out of town to buy a bottle of soy sauce since that shop run by the old man near the butcher shop has that. It is a sense of comfort and safety knowing that it is the usual way to go, the usual way to work. Not only do they feel familiar with the surroundings but, the surroundings also become familiar with their appearance. In my own experience, I always find it a pleasure when walking into a restaurant as a regular, instead of going through their menu and spending time deciding what to eat, I can just say to the waiter/waitress "Just the usual, please!" and they know for sure what to bring to me. I feel connected with the place, and more broadly, the community. The only downside, however, is the lack of motivation for new things. Consequently, people can find it difficult to adjust to the changes, which will happen inevitably. In summary, there are different people who seek pleasure in trying new things or doing things in a routine. Both can justify easily their own reasoning for their behavior. For me, living in a small town seems to shape my preference for doing things in a routine. However, once in a while, I love coming up with something new in order not to get bored with my life.