Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Globalization has transformed the planet into a small village. This drastic change fosters individuals to learn English for the betterment and expansion of businesses. This essay believes that English is crucial for personal and professional growth; however, appropriate actions should be taken for the survival of the native language. English is an international language and has become an indispensable part of business, especially for overseas import and export trades. Business communication relies on English, as it acts as a bridge between two foreigners who have different native languages. Furthermore, acquiring higher knowledge of English is essential to bolster a career. To exemplify, if a student wants to study abroad, he needs to qualify for it by cracking an I.E.L.T.S examination. Thus, it is quite evident that having a good command of English is essential to edifying businesses and other professional careers. Likewise, learning a native language contributes to maintaining the identity of a country and expressing emotions. The mother tongue plays a significant role in learning moral values, which reflects the uniqueness among millions of people, and thus it is the root of a native's identity. The government should ensure the survival of local languages by making it a compulsory course in schools. To illustrate, Punjabi and Hindi are compulsory subjects in Punjab to make sure every young one knows how to read, write and speak his native language. To conclude, a bilingual individual who has a great knowledge of English can fulfil his dream of studying abroad and excel in his business. Knowledge of the local language is as important as English because it reflects one's identity and emotions, and should be saved from extinction by considering it a vital part of school curriculum.