Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food is an essential part of an individual's life. The question of whether local food is more beneficial than packaged food has sparked a huge debate. I completely believe that home grown food is more healthy and cheaper when comapared to packaged food. This essay will illustrate the pros of having local dishes. Firstly, package food contains large quantities of preservatives. These are added by the industries to improve the shelf life of their products, but these are very harmful for our body. Additionally, people who consume these items end up getting cancer and other hamrful diseases. For instance, I had a friend of mine who consumed packaged foods such as buiscuits,chips,sweets etc. very frequently and after few months he was diagnosed with jaundice. This completely shattered his health and hampered his day-to-day activities. After this incident he decided to consume local food and avoid packaged food. Secondly, local foods are cheaper and are available in local shops quite easily. Furthermore, they are environmentally beneficial as they don't need to be trsported long distances, which inturn saves fossil fuels. For example, there is a supermarket in my city namely,Reliance and it sell's exquisite fruits that is only grown in Mexico. The fruits are very expensive, since they are exported from a country which is thousand miles away from us. This proves how transportation can add up to the cost of the food and this make is less affordable. On the other hand, local dishes are cheaper and easily available. Furthermore, it benefits the local farmers and improves their economic situation. To conclude, local food is a better option when compared to packaged food. On the one hand local food is healthy, chemical free and cheaper on the other hand packaged foods are unhealthy and expensive. After a thorough analysis, we can conclude that human beings should consume local items to save their money and improve their health.