Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes, and what solutions can be offered?

Being obese was once only a condition that adults suffered from, but it is becomming more common in children. This essay will first discuss how fast food and sedentary lifestyle are the primary causes of this growing problem and then outline how education and increased exercise are the most viable solutions. One cause of obesity in children is the increasing popularity of fast-food restaurants. Fast food usually contains an exorbitant number of calories because it is very high in fat and sugar. In addition, young people are living a more sedentary lifestyle. Nowadays, more children choose computer games or social media over physical activity, so they are unable to burn the extra calories they are eating. It can be commonly seen in many western nations, for instance, that the number of children who participate in after-school sports has dropped significantly over the last decade. The best solution to this problem of obesity is to educate children about the dangers of being severely overweight. If children are more aware of the types of diseases associated with obesity, they might think twice before asking their parents to take them to the local burger restaurant. Moreover, schools should introduce more physical exercise into their curriculums. If children take part in sports, the physical activity will allow them to burn calories and avoid weight gain. Schools where children are required to participate in at least one team sport. for example, typically have lower obesity rates. In conclusion, many children are struggling with their weight because of eating too much junk food combined with a sedentary lifestyle. However, if school give children enough information about the risks they are taking by doing this and require children to take more exercise, the problem can be alleviated.