Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is thought by some people that upcoming graduate students should be trained by the university for workspace only. Opponents advocate that University is only reprehensible for sharing knowledge as a whole. In my opinion, universities should strike a balance between job-related skills and traditional subjects which are mainly responsible for sharing knowledge. I believe that a balanced approach is crucial for our young graduates' holistic development. Employment trends are evolving rapidly, and job-related skills acquired today, may become obsolete tomorrow. Hence, a balanced approach of knowledge and skills needed in the workspace is necessary for better development of students. This movement equips students with the ability to adapt to change and foster a love for learning. By executing this plan, universities will enhance the student's quality of critical thinking, analytical abilities and logical reasoning skills. As a consequence, students will be prepared for all types of challenges which the future represents. Another reason stems from the fact that, while work-related skills are necessary, however, an exclusive focus on them neglecting the invaluable lessons offered by knowledgeable subjects like history is a grave mistake. Creating a balance between these two aspects will provide students with a strong foundation. Education should aim to produce well-rounded individuals aiming not only technical work-related skills but also the broader knowledge and cultural awareness to contribute meaningfully to society. In conclusion, universities should build a balance between skills needed in the workspace and knowledgeable aspects to equip students with the tools necessary for success in their future careers and their personal lives.