Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Nowadays, some people believe that the best solution to reduce the world's traffic is to increase the cost of fuel. Personally, I believe that this is not a viable solution and I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I think that even if the government increases the fuel cost, the rich can afford it and there will not be much change at the end of the day. So, there should be some other solutions to solve the environmental problems. For instance, governments can encourage people to use fewer cars by providing the public with cheap and advanced transport system. As a result, there will be less air pollution and traffic congestions can be mitigated to a considerable extent in big cities. Moreover, another significant solution can be the replacement of fuel-based cars with electric ones. Nowadays a growing number of countries are investing in this field in order to address the issues related to environment and traffic. However, electric cars are comparatively expensive and hence, unaffordable for many people. So, it is obvious that governments and car companies should reduce the price of such vehicles in order to encourage more people to use them. In conclusion, I believe that the increase in fuel costs is not a suitable solution, and we can tackle traffic problems and air pollution by improving the public transport and manufacturing economical electric cars.