48.Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some educators hold a belief that all children should learn to play a musical instrument. Despite the disadvantages associated with students ' hectic schedules, I believe that this approach is generally more favourable because it can be a good way to discover young musical talents and organize healthy pastimes. To begin with, it is undeniable that children are likely to suffer more pressure when musical subjects are added to their educational programs. This is because this approach adds more stress to the already burdensome volume of schoolwork. In fact, teenagers nowadays are often subjected to a busy schedule with a mounting of homework and in-class assignments. Therefore, adding another subject to their curriculum can make it more difficult for students to study effectively. The situation may even get worse when a child feels frustrated and no longer finds excitement about learning music. They must be better off using that effort and time to focus on something that they are really interested in. However, it is understandable that learning music is believed to be beneficial for youngsters. Firstly, geniuses' musical talent can be discovered at a young age and later developed into a professional career. Dang Thai Son, who learnt the piano from his mother at the age of 6 and became the most Vietnamese successful pianist is an excellent example. Secondly, in the eyes of adults, playing a musical instrument can be a positive hobby and potentially replace computer games. These days, children spend most of their time watching mind-numbing television programs and playing digital games. It has been scientifically proven that extensive exposure to video games can create behavioural and mental changes, leading to a lack of face-to-face interactions and poor academic performance. Meanwhile, playing music can improve students ' verbal memory, spatial reasoning and literacy skills. The main reason is that playing music involves both sides of the brain which strengthens memorial skills. In conclusion, while learning to play a certain musical instrument can bring several benefits to children in terms of the discovery of young musical talents and organizing positive pastimes, it is important to acknowledge its drawbacks such as increased pressure. It is advisable that musical education should be provided to those students who are really interested in and willing to pursue it, rather than imposing it on all children.