As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Technology has become a key part of our daily routine. It is an aspect that covers the use of the internet. There is a general concern that newspapers may fade away with the increasing use of Internet services. I do not agree with the the notion that the use of graphics for the purposes of news will become a thing of the past. On the one hand, online platforms are undoubtedly sources of information. For instance, it has become common for people with sources of wifi to turn to their electronic devices to enable them to gain access to news from all over the world. This mode of getting information is free and fast and eliminates the need to stock one's home with old papers. It is clear how digitalization has brought the world to our doorsteps. Therefore, I can understand why some individuals may not find it appealing to spend extra cash to purchase newspapers for information they can easily have access to with just a click on their technological devices. On the other hand, 'old practices are golden' as society terms it. Our world still has and will continue to have conservative people who delight in utilising primitive ways. To illustrate this, My father is very comfortable reading newspapers and underlining important information with a pen. He claims it makes him focused and saves him from distraction. According to him, he gets several notifications with catchy headings on his online interface whenever he decides to read some news. He ends up spending his nap and lunch time reading various news articles he originally did not intend to. Hence, sticking to hard copies makes him more productive as he uses his time judiciously. I tend to understand his perspective as I can relate. With regards to newspapers keeping people away from Internet addiction, I tend to disagree that newspapers will be termed history in the future. In conclusion, although acquiring information online is easy and is a rampant practice in our modern world, I therefore disagree that in some years to come, this trend will completely take the place of newspapers.