Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Some parents believe that the youth should own a smartphone as it is essential for them to communicate with others. Others believe that it is not necessary as children usually lack self-control. I believe that learning how to use mobile is one of the most essential skills nowadays and children should have their own smartphones. People who disagree with young children owning a smartphone have their points. It is true that children usually lack self-control and therefore if they own a smartphone, they will probably spend a lot of time playing games or browsing the internet with it. This problem can be solved by installing apps that prevent children from using it without permission. Thus, other than keeping in touch with others, children will not allowed to use them for another purpose. In this case, young kids can own their mobiles without the worry of spending too much time with them. Moreover, in this fast-paced world, learning how to properly use a smartphone is also an essential skill nowadays. Children can learn how to search for useful information to help their studies with their smartphones. For example, students can take a picture of a flower and know details about it. When technology is used in a proper way, it helps students to study and learn better. As a result, I believe that children should own their own smartphones. In conclusion, it is no doubt that most young children lack self-control and if they own a cellphone they may spend a lot of time playing games with them. However, I believe that by installing apps that prevent them from using them improperly, mobile phones can help them in their studies and proper use of a mobile is one of the most important skills in the future. Therefore children should own a phone themselves.