Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some educators hold a belief that all children should learn to play a musical instrument. Despite the disadvantages associated with students' hectic schedules, I agree with this notion because this approach is a good way to discover young musical talents and organize healthy pastimes for youngsters. On the one hand, it is undeniable that teenagers are likely to suffer more pressure if musical subjects are added to their educational programs. This is because young people nowadays are often subjected to a busy schedule with a mounting of homework and in-class assignments. Thus, adding another subject to their curriculum makes it more difficult for them to study effectively. The situation even gets worse if a child feels frustrated and no longer finds excitement about learning music. They must be better off using that time and effort to focus on something which they are really interested in. On the other hand, it is understandable that learning to play music is believed to be beneficial for children's well-being. Firstly, geniuses' musical talent can be discovered at a young age and later developed into a professional career. Dang Thai Son, who learnt piano from his mother at the age of 6 and became the most successful Vietnamese pianist, is an excellent example. Secondly, in the eyes of adults, playing music can be a positive hobby and potentially replace computer games. These days, children spend most of their time watching mind-numbing television programs and playing video games. It has been scientifically proven that those children who spend more time playing digital games can develop behavioural and mental changes, leading to a lack of face-to-face interactions and poor academic performance. Meanwhile, learning to play music can help improve students' verbal memory, spatial reasoning and literacy skills. The main reason is that playing music involves both sides of the brain which strengthens memorial skills. In conclusion, while learning to play a certain musical instrument can bring several benefits to children in terms of the discovery of young musical talents and organizing healthy pastimes, it is important to acknowledge its drawbacks such as increased stressed schedules. It is advisable that musical education should be offered to those individuals who are really interested in and willing to pursue it rather than imposing it on everyone.