Scientific research today attempts to go too far. There are certain things in the world which we simply should not try to understand. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge orcexperience.

Humans have always been curious, it is part of our nature and for this reason we have always been trying to find an explanation for what we witnessed. Since the 16th century, when the scientific method was developed, we finally had a standardised way to determine what is “true” based on experiments and observations. Hence it is understandable why since that very moment, scientific reasearch has become part of almost any field of the human knowledge but this has also made part of the population fight against this expansion as they think there are phenomena we should not try to understand. On the one hand, it is paramount to understand the importance of scientific research as it is the driving force our civilization, it is the reason why we live the way we do. Thus it should not be something we are afraid of, it should be see as one of the greatest tool we have to understand what is around us. On the other hand, there have always been topics such as understanding emotions or religion which did not fit easily with the way the scientific method can explain phenomena. But refusing to explain something just because it is hard to do so is against the very essence of what the scientific method is about, just by looking at the advancments in psycology and neurology, it is incredible how much more we know about emotions and yet how far we are from trurly understanding them. In conclusion, the people who are opposed to introducing scinetific reaserch in specific fields are usually afraid of loosing the “romantic” side of the uknown. I personally think that the fact that emotions and behaviours are so dependent on our physiology and the internal chemistry of our brains, in a such a complex way that we know more about outer space than what is inside our heads, is arguably more fascinating and romantic than the idea of a soul.