some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a posotive or a negative development?

Nowadays, smartphones are the most practical and accessible means of communication. However, children use it as an entertainment device for many hours a day. I subscribe to the view that communication devices such as smartphones are the most important and efficient development in the 21st century even for children. Accordingly, increasing intelligence and strengthening learning skills are the two advantages of using smartphones by children, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the positive effects of technology on children's development, such as increasing intelligence, is one of the benefits that comes from the correct use of it. According to Cornell American University, which had an experiment on 9000 children with different races and social groups, the IQ scores of the current generation are higher than the previous generation which Experts attribute this effect directly to smartphones.The increase in the number of technological products such as smartphones in children's lives has made these tools available to children as an exercise to solve more complex problems. Secondly, exercises to improve mental ability for children are very limited due to the highly low number and variety of their entertainment devices, but with access to smartphones, they have a variety of training and mental exercises. New educational methods such as games and programs that improve cognitive skills are some examples of these benefits. Games to strengthen memory and children's concentration as well as visual games to improve visual skills, etc. are easily available to children on their phones. Therefore, access to suitable programs on children ’s smartphones can be quite useful for them and increase their skills and mental abilities. In summary, children can improve their learning skills and intelligence by using smartphones. The main conclusion to be drawn is that smartphones can be the most useful and informative devices for children as long as parents can supervise how to use them.