Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

In recent times, society tends to choose self-employed because it is considered to bring more advantages. While there are various reasons, working for oneself has its benefits and downsides. This essay will elaborate on the reason why communities are starting to work individually rather than working in an office, concretely with the positive and the negative sides. To commence with, in the past, the trend of our labour leaned toward an office-based scheme. To illustrate this, in the 80s labourers were highly needed to work in factories. This because due to the new establishment of technology, industries are mainly remain operated manually. As the progression of technology day by day started to increase, hence, it affected the trend of workers as well. Working with other people in certain organizations has been replaced with self-employed. Working oneself is considered more efficient and effective compared to being employed by other people. Firstly, by working individually we can be our own boss, creating our own schedule and task scheme. Moving forward, being individually employed has enabled us to work anywhere and every time we want, as we need no permission from our boss and we are not bound to a company’s regulations. However, individual working has its drawbacks. Due to working on our own, self-employed is prone to stress. Aside from that, we may lose our motivation and it may affect our performance, for example, delay in delivering our task or lack of qualities. To conclude, communities starting to move to a recently developed working system, which is working one-self. Working oneself brings more freedom for its workers. Unfortunately, it is also important to underline that self-employed has its minus, which can be seen from the lack of management systems, ups and downs in motivation, and sensitivity to burnout. Hence, to decide whether we want to endeavour in companies or freelance, we have to understand our motivation and career paths.