In some cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, a lot of traffic is causing difficulty in a few cities and towns in the world. This essay will examine the main problems of how traffic is affecting people in the cities and towns and we will discuss the possible solutions to this problem. The two main problems caused by traffic are rise in private vehicles and pollution. One is that cars have become more affordable for the average consumer, and they are no longer luxury items, consequently, people are using cars to go to their workplace. For example, according to the statistics it takes approximately two to three hours for employees to reach their workspace in metropolis cities such as Bangalore, Mumbai and Delhi. Furthermore, in some cities, like Manila, the public transport facilities are poorly managed therefore people choose to drive their own vehicles. These two reasons for poor traffic management in many places cause unmanageable traffic jams. However, there are several things that the government could do to reduce the trouble. Firstly, the state should provide decent, safe and clean public transportation amenities, then more people would use public transport, instead of personal cars. Secondly, the government should develop new industries and commercial areas on the outskirts of the city. It is hoped that some public will move to these areas and would reduce the density problem. In conclusion, cities and towns all over the world are facing serious traffic problems these days. It is mainly due to population growth, density and poor public transportation facilities. But there are several things that the government could do to address the problem, such as improving public transport, and developing new areas.