Some people believe that international tourism has brought enormous benefit to some places. Others argue that there is concern about its negative impact on local inhabitants and environment. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

While some people think of promoting tourism as a beneficial scheme to boost the economy of a country, others are concerned about its negative impact on local people and the surrounding environment. I believe a country should promote tourism for two reasons. However, there is one drawback that will be discussed. First of all, attracting foreign tourists to visit a country is a good sign because this can boost the overall economy of the country. For example, a recent survey on South Asia showed that approximately 10% of Bangladesh's GDP directly comes from the tourism industry and this can further be increased to 25% if they take sufficient measures to draw the attention of European and North American people. In addition, tourism gives the opportunity to promote local industries by creating a high demand for regional products. This is a positive trend because the money the government will profit from this tourism sector can be spent on various welfare schemes such as building better infrastructure for the citizens, a better schooling system for teenagers etc. Secondly, tourism helps to increase cultural diversity in a country, since visitors come from different socioeconomic backgrounds, hence they bring a lot of diverse perspectives with them. For instance, Singapore is one of the most culturally diverse countries in Asia, since a large chunk of visitors were attracted to this country that they decided to stay there forever. Notwithstanding, there is also one significant disadvantage associated with tourism: the destruction of ecology. When there is a large influx of tourists, they tend to harm the native species of a country. Take the example of India, where almost 10% of native species of plants are now on the verge of extinction due to the ignorance of the tourists who visit these places. Consequently, the native species play a crucial role in balancing the ecosystem of the country and also influence climate change. In conclusion, promoting tourism is a positive thing for the two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect development unless we address the ecological issue that is associated with tourism.