Students in a school should learn academic subjects and pass exams. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodwork can be learned from family and friends. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that students can learn skills such as cookery, tailoring, woodwork from their family and peers, while taking academic subjects and passing them must be done at school. I believe that if former mentioned skills were fully developed through professional classes, this would benefit people's lifestyle and career growth as well as avoid dangerous situations. This essay will further discuss why I support this viewpoint and provide a conclusion. To begin, most people who could not afford to go to school and tend to fall on what they have learned when they were young, this includes carpenting and cooking. As a result, they find a low-paying jobs in a construction firm or an eatery that gives them lesser opportunities to improve their ways of living. Although if they have taken short courses, which are given by most governments for free, it would be benifical for those who want to apply for international companies. Take cookery for instance, a lot of individuals find an opportunity to work at cruiseships, which is known for their huge compensation and benefits for employees. Another reason why I disagree to this notion is that having an educational background about these line of work may give them deeper knowledge to prevent potential accidents while working. For example, welding could be extremely dangerous job if it was not learned properly. This could seriously burn various parts of a person's body because of the heat that is used to connect metals, even just looking at the (fireworks-like) could easily damage the eyes. Therefore, it is vital to learn these at educational institutions. To conclude, although learning skills such as cooking and welding from those people around them may give them basic knowledge. In my opinion, acquiring proper classes not only could help them to progress in their career and receive a higher salary, but also provide them knowledge on how to prevent hurting themselves while working.