n a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Transportation plays a key role in every nation. As such, it is not surprising that people have divergent opinions about whether to construct new high-speed railways or upgrade public transport that is being used now. From my perspective, I consider building new high-speed railways more important. Undeniably, the biggest merit of railways is time-efficient. Commuters travelling to and from work can sharply reduce the time, and tourists can also take advantage of its convenience. What’s more, trains have a high capacity and thus are able to contain many passengers once a ride. From that case, it is believed that trains emit less carbon emissions and are more environmentally friendly than driving your own cars or taking a flight. The last point is that railways have lower risk of accidents since the tracks are separated. On the other hand, it is imperative to improve the quality of roads. Unlike railways, better roads are beneficial to those who prefer driving to taking public transportation as their daily commute. Furthermore, comprehensive networking of buses and overpasses can boost the national economy. A case in point is that agricultural products would be able to be transported to the market in a shorter period of time. In conclusion, although improving the existing roads is essential, high-speed railways can create other transportation systems and give the citizens an alternative option. Not to mention that we are all responsible for making the best endeavour to protect the environment. As a result, I am inclined to consider that the pros of constructing railways are larger.