It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Small local retailers are finding it hard to compete against big shop chains, which is causing negative effects on local communities. This essay will discuss consequences as well as provide solutions regarding this matter. After large shops as well as online shops started to spread across countries offering larger selection of products for lower prices compared to small-scale shops, most of the people started to prefer them over local ones. This change caused economic problems for many local business owners leaving them out of work. Besides that, often local retailers have produced traditional items or foods that helped to preserve local culture. The problem with large supermarkets is that local culture is influenced by mass cultures losing its uniqueness in the worst scenario causing changes in local communities. To minimize negative effects that larger shops are bringing to local communities, there are few solutions. Main one being, offering small businesses the possibility to sell their products in large shops with the condition that they will get a big part of the sales. This way, local entrepreneurs will be secured with income and local products will be sold to consumers for possibly lower prices. Another idea is to organize different public campaigns or social events to promote local farmers and designers to raise interest and awareness of the public about the whole matter. When these methods are combined, all the counterparts will get their profits as well as the local community will maintain to preserve its local ingredients, handcrafts and traditions. To conclude, larger supermarkets are causing more economic difficulties for local businesses as well as negatively affecting the cultural heritage of the local communities that have their organic ingredients as well as crafts. To limit these impacts, local events should be organized and bigger shops should work together with locals selling locally produced items and foods to secure the economic income of people in the area.