Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Environment has become a major concern around the world, especially in the modern age. Getting rid of any packaging such as bags, or bottles made from plastic, mostly one-time-used kind, is one of the major priorities due to its harm to the environment. First of all, we cannot ignore the fact that plastic material is very hard to decompose, compared to paper, for example. Scientists have warned about how long it takes for this material to decompose properly, which can take thousands or millions of years. Considering plastic containers are still around in everyday life, one can imagine how large the dumpster can become filled with plastic bags, bottles or containers. Some people may have the idea of burning it, which is actually not a good idea as well due to the poisonous fume it can release. As a consequence, it harms the respiratory system of human beings and animals. Speaking of animals, due to the colourful nature of some packaging, they can easily mistake it for food, or get tangled with these plastic wrappings. It is still heartbreaking to see pictures of a sea turtle swimming in the sea with a plastic bag hanging around its neck. With that being said, it is not a lost cause, though. But to reduce the use of plastic in materials, it requires a massive effort from both the governments and citizens like you and me. In terms of legislation, the issue will still be apparent unless the authority implements policies to restrict and stop the manufacturing of any plastic -related containers. To stop the supply, the lawmakers can also shift their focus on the demand, which mostly consists of retail stores. Pressurizing these corporates to move away from providing plastic shopping bags in favour of bags made from either paper or any other eco-friendly materials can be a great start. As for us consumers, we can contribute to the effort by practising the habit of bringing our own shopping bags, bottles or containers. As a result, we will see fewer shops providing plastic containers, which can steadily reduce plastic waste getting to the landfill. In conclusion, we can see how harmful plastic bags, bottles or containers are to our environment due to the difficulty of decomposition, and how poisonous when being burned. However, governments and individuals can reduce the use of them by turning to a more sustainable, reusable containers to