Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, some people believe the news about the world on the internet or social media is more convenient and accessible than reading newspapers or watching TV news programs. In the following paragraph, both views on this topic will be discussed in detail before a conclusion is reached. To begin with, the internet and social media such as Facebook, Lindekin, and Twitter have several advantages. They are easy to use, reachable, and affordable. Individuals can access news from everywhere by using their smartphones. There are a variety of sources of news on the internet. For instance, when I want to know about new laws before they are published in a newspaper, I can search for news about them on the internet. Further, on some sources, such as Facebook, there is a function called "Facebook Live" to update real-time news. My mother really enjoys this function because she is a big fan of the government lottery announcement. I strongly believe that the new technology of the internet is very friendly and easy to use in the present day. All of these factors convinced many people that the internet is more convenient. On the other hand, some people believe that the internet has a few disadvantages. Nowadays, people care about ratings on social media, such as followers, total likes, and comments. They may create fake news or fake contents to increase followers. They do not think about the negative effects of their behaviors. The outcome of fake news is the spread of misinformation. In addition, there is a very important disadvantage: if people do not buy newspapers or watch news TV programs in the future, Individuals who work for newspapers' companies will lose their jobs in the future. To conclude, there are advantages and disadvantages to getting news from the internet. The positive development of the internet is its convenience and accessibility. However, the negative development of the internet is the spread of fake news to individuals.