Some people think that museum should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museum is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A museum is considered a palace of art, science, culture and history. Many argue that a museum is supposed to be entertaining enough to attract visitors, while others think it is a public institution solely for educational purposes. This essay below will discuss both views along with my opinion. It’s completely understandable that a considerable amount of people are fond of an entertaining museum because it caters to their needs of leisure and curiosity, especially for travelers and families with children, who would see a museum as “an amusement park” with cultural atmosphere. In addition, the more appealing museums a city has, the more visitors it can attract, which is likely to boost local businesses and promote the city’s image. Turning to the aims of education, museums teach us about the profound history and abstract science in probably the best way human being came out of. With those tangible sets and artefacts on display, people can fully immerse themselves in the informative environment around, not only to learn knowledge, but also to feel them. For instance, many primary schools in Beijing have found that the most efficient way for students to learn Chinese history is to take a trip to the Palace Museum, as known as the Forbidden City. In my opinion, these two views above are not mutually exclusive. An ideal museum can serve dual purposes, both entertainingly and educationally. Hence, it should be our shared goal to make museums a better reconcilement of acquiring knowledge and having fun.