An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they are older both in terms of their health and healthcare costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

In the modern world, the rate of childhood obesity has increased significantly so that, they confront considerable health difficulties and healthcare costs when they grow up. The major reasons for that are the modern education system and the modern dietary pattern. However, they could be solved by viable solutions. Hence, in this essay, I will explore reasons for childhood obesity and the perfect solutions for that. First of all, the sophisticated education system contributes to increasing schoolchildren's fatness. Since the modern school curriculum depends on state-of-the-art technological devices such as cutting-edge laptops and smartphones, they are addicted to them and they always spend time in front of the digital screen. Therefore, their physical activities such as engaging in sports have decreased considerably and they may have a sedentary lifestyle. Consequently, their weight will rise gradually. For example, students who live in Western countries are extremely fat because they study with new technology at their schools and homes. Moreover, unhealthy eating habits drive this excessive weight gain of a new generation since they consume fast foods which are high in calories and unsaturated fats immensely. Therefore, the cholesterol levels of blood circulation will be enhanced and it causes fatness in the young population. However, there are viable solutions to this crisis. Firstly, sports and physical activities should be introduced as main subjects in the school syllabus. Therefore, they may engage in those sports and will realize the importance of physical stamina. As a consequence, they may lead to an active life. Secondly, teaching the disadvantages of unhealthy meals and restricting them is paramount to reducing becoming overweight. They should be provided nutritious cuisines that are supported to boost physical fitness. For instance, traditional foods such as junk fruit curry, hoppers, and string hoppers should be introduced to the school canteens instead of fried rice, donuts, etc. In conclusion, the new education system and unhealthy eating habits are key to becoming overweight. However, introducing sports as a major portion of the education syllabus and introducing nutritious cuisine to students are excellent possible solutions to prevent this problem.