Despite better access to education, some adults are not able to read or write. What are the main disadvantages of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that these days some individuals do not have a basic (or primary) education, leading them to face many obstacles, such as not being able to read or write. The question is, what are the downsides of this problem? In this essay, I am going to answer the previous question in a clear and comprehensive way, also providing some examples to support my claims. In addition, I will provide some solutions to this problem. In terms of the negative side, not having the ability to either read or write creates a huge obstacle for anyone's job. The main reason given to support this claim is that it is necessary nowadays for anyone to be at least- able to read or send emails in addition to writing reports for his or her work progress. In other words, if people don't have these fundamental skills, they will simply not be able to complete their basic work duties. To illustrate, because my uncle hasn't ever been to school, he still struggles (till today) from always being rejected by every company he applies to work in. On the other hand, Dad used to be an A+ student. Consequently, he grew up with a great knowledge of different fields, which led him to start his own business and make an amazing monthly income. Looking at the optimistic side, there are a lot of solutions for this problem; one is called the Internet, a place where you can find any information or improve any skill you want: languages, school subjects, self-improvement, hobbies, programming, etc... Governments should, therefore, build specialized centres, where old people would be educated on how to use the Internet to find the proper videos or articles that teach reading and writing skills. For instance, Egypt's government used and still applies this method to teach old people. In conclusion, reading and writing are really crucial skills that everyone needs. Without them, one couldn't communicate, work, or even differentiate between right and wrong information. In fact, one would be easily manipulated.