Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The effect of the situation of a misdeed have on the level of punishment is a matter of discussion. While some argue that the situation and the person's intention shall be considered on the level of punishment, others say that this level has to be equal for every person who commits, despite of motivations or circumstances. Both groups have strong arguments and hence devoted advocates. It is widely believed that the intentions shall not be taken into account, because no one really can read them. Intetions and motivations are so intrinsic that law shall not take the risk of involving such ambigous phenomonon into deliberate matters like punishment. For example, in case of a murder that leads to the capital punishment, the jury can really misjudge the real reason and hence kill a person who only wanted to defend himself or herself. Or in another case, a true serial killer can play so well that the court considers the case an incident. The advocates of equal punishment idea think that the law has to be like a sharp sword; a sword that separates the good and evil without any doubts about anything else. On the other hands, it is important to notice that the situation and the motivation for commiting a crime can change the whole narrative. A desperate thief who steals a loaf of bread to remain alive is different from a gang of cruel gold burglars. People in their everyday lives, when needed to judge a simple matter, consider the situation, too. In the case of a murder, it is important to distinguish between a person who has brutally murdered an innocent person and a young woman who unintentionally hit a rapist in the head to defend herself. This is the core reason for setting a range of punishment for a certain type of crime. For example, for driving a car while drunk you may face a charge for the first time, but there will be a jail time in the next events. I strongly believe that it is important to consider the reasons and situations where a crime happens. This is totally closer to a realistic justice in the society. Us, as human beings, judge in such way and this way of judging has worked a lot better in developed societies. Overall, the debate of fixed or proportional punishment remains open because both sides have strong feelings about their ideas. While a group thinks no one can read the intentions, the other campaign argues that there might be an immense difference between people who have done a certain crime. I side with those who say the intentions shall be taken into account.