Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although, it is sometimes thought by individuals that making tax contributions is the biggest thing that can be provided to society, others believe additional efforts are needed on the top of taxes. In my opinion, I consider the importance of sustained actions in addition to taxes for the longer time horizon. On one hand, it is believed by citizens that their job at most solely comprises paying taxes owed to the government. This is mainly, because, it is only after taxes, the government can do its public service works. Additionally, they are of the opinion,that a single person’s say is not enough to change and/or alter the society. For example, more policing resources are the key to reducing criminal activities, which is possible only after paying taxes. Moreover, any public influence is only restricted to a social, cultural or religious gathering, hence, it deems them not to go beyond than what is asked by law. On the other hand, it is of the view that responsibilities do not stop right after paying taxes. As a person living in society, he/she needs to be a critique of the government policies for the holistic development of society’s upliftment and growth. This in, the long run, helps in questioning the rightful usage of public funds by the government among different sectors. Moreover, it is believed that without education for sustainable living, monetary resources go into dump yard, for instance, to segregate the trash generated from households. Hence, additional concerted efforts from individuals are needed more than just the taxes. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, however, I think that individual responsibilities are only partially done with taxes, the majority of it’s with balance and continuous checks and following better living habits and practices.