Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage, and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There can be little doubt that the lack of housing space is a significant concern in many cities worldwide. This problem is attributable to rapid urbanization and limited funding for affordable housing projects but can be addressed by the government implementing an incentive scheme for developers. The underlying root of the problem is quick urbanization in cosmopolitan cities, which leads to an increase in demand for housing. In other words, a scarcity of land availability in those cities can not afford the fast spreading of urban cities, which results in the increase of housing prices. This means people who have below-average incomes do not have a chance to own a household property; therefore, they have no choice but to live in a slum, which is a place of social devils. Take India as a prime example, because of urbanization caused by overpopulation, citizens in crowded cities suffer from poverty and disease by living in unsanitary places. Another factor may be insufficient funding for housing projects in major cities. Despite the efforts the authorities put into this area, the regrettable reality is that a limited number of people can approach these projects because of their extravagant prices. This situation stems from developers who need to raise their housing projects to make as much money as possible in most cities in developing countries. Consequently, a rising price has a detrimental effect on citizens' lives when it forces them to live in an unsafe place where they can not secure a steady life and children's upbringing. To alleviate this issue, the government can incentivize developers to build more affordable housing. In more detail, developers who build such housing can benefit from the policies of offering tax credits or subsidies, which financially provide them more opportunities to construct these community-serving projects. Additionally, such incentive schemes from the government can provide low-interest loans to developers to finance the intention of building low-priced places, thus reducing the housing shortage in major cities. Therefore, it can be seen that the lack of adequate housing in cities is conducive to a fast pace of urbanization and a lack of affordable housing projects. However, the government can mitigate these situations by implementing a financial scheme as an urgent action.