Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

It is a fact that health concern is ubiquitous worldwide. Scientific study shows that certain activities have a positive impact on health and some are detrimental. However, a lot of individuals are involved in bad activities. While there are definite causative factors for this trend, remedial actions can go a long way to address the situation. To begin with, one significant reason for such a situation is a lack of time. For example, it is observed that individuals often use personal vehicles to commute for both short and long distances rather than considering environmentally friendly private transportation. This is because people do not have enough time to wait for these transport systems as they are busy with their own work schedules. Furthermore, another reason for doing unhealthy activities is to reduce psychological stress. To illustrate, it is observed that many individuals intake harmful substances like alcohol or drugs despite knowing that would be detrimental to their health to eliminate stress. The resolution of such an issue can be easily done by improving public transport facilities. This means that this transportation should be frequently and easily accessible by individuals. In addition, the governmental authorities should invest funds in improving public transportation and encourage people to use it. Furthermore, The government can create awareness regarding the side effects of taking unhealthy substances through campaigns on social media services like Twitter, Instagram and even Facebook. This is necessary to protect individual’s lives. In conclusion, the primary reason for doing harmful activities is that lack of time and stress reduction. These can be easily resolved by the governments after improving the public transport system and spreading awareness regarding the negative effects of harmful substances.