It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been said that only bikes should be allowed in the centre of cities instead of automobiles and buses. This essay completely agrees with that statement because this policy would reduce city congestion, and promoting cycling would lead to a healthier population. Nowadays, many cities witness huge traffic jams in the centre, since most citizens who own a car live there. Therefore, banning cars and buses and allowing special transport such as public transport for those with disabilities would decrease the traffic because the number of transports is the main reason why congestion takes place. For example, Helsinki aims to be a car-free city by 2025, and people who already experienced a carless lifestyle there are happy not to waste their precious time on the road. Cycling is one of the environmentally friendly modes of transport, and supporting the use of bicycles would be beneficial to the health of men and women. This is to say that to be fit and well, human beings need to stay physically active and riding a bike is a physical activity which improves blood circulation. For instance, Dutch people mostly use a bicycle as a main means of transport, and it is seen that those who ride a bike have half a year longer life expectancy than the others. In conclusion, due to the huge number of car owners in city centres, people are stuck on the road for hours, therefore, banning cars and public transport would reduce traffic jams, and I believe making bikes a primary transport could improve people’s health.