Some experts believes that it is better for children to begin learning a foriegn language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages?

As the world moving fast to the future with lot of development, lot of people migrate to different countries looking for new opprtunities. When migrating to a country for a job or even for a visit, knowing the native language of the particular country would be an advantage. Because of this fact many specialists consider it could be beneficial for the children to learn a foreign language at early stage of thier school years rather than late. It is considered that children has a higher ability to pick up new languages at an early stage of thier lives. Given the fact that starting to learn early allows the children to master it in thier own time. It also gives a sense of unserstanding to the children about the diversity of the poeple, cultures around the world. on the contrary, to some children learning a new language can be a challenge and it could be overwhelming later on. Children who are in secondary school have the autonomy to chose the preferred language they like to learn than the primary students. They could chose a language which could be an investment to thier future goals. Older children may have a better environment and opportunities to polish their language as they get more space to interact with poeple and society. But learning a new language along with other academics could be an additional workload for the students. Therefore, I believe that learning a foriegn language at an early stage of education gives better chance of mastering the languauge in thier own time rather than in secondary stage of education.