Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative delvelopment ?

In the modern era, smartphones have become an essential part of everyday life. There are some people who say that children are spending hours every day on their smartphones. I completely agree with this view and I believe this is a positive development. In the following paragraphs, I will give reasons to support my answer. According to the observation, there are three common reasons why I think that mobile phone usage among kids is a good sign. First of all, it is a great source of education which is probably the prime reason. This is because kids using smartphones can access various educational content through multi-media platforms such as Youtube, and GregMat. For example, according to a survey, last year online educational platforms contributed around 10% of Bangladesh's total GDP. Secondly, entertainment could be another motive for supporting the idea. It is well known that phones are a great medium for playing video games for relaxation and spending free time with friends. In most countries, authorities arrange local gaming competitions to motivate teenagers to play online games and take a break from their studies. Finally, this is also beneficial for their mental health. Social media software installed in phones can inspire teenagers to communicate with their friends and family, which will help them to reduce mental stress levels, workload, and anxiety. For instance, it is shown that teenagers can reduce stress levels by approximately 25% if they share their work pressure with relatives and friends, where phones act as a key communication channel. In conclusion, there is no doubt that children are spending a majority of their time on smart devices, and whether this trend is good or bad is a debatable issue. However, considering all the reasons above, I completely support my prospect that this is a positive development because of its far-reaching benefits to the education sector, entertainment, and mental health.