It is believed that secondary school children should study international news as one of their school subjects. Others think that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Although, it is thought by some, that school subjects ought to teach children about global news from secondary schooling level, while others are of the opinion to be of absolute waste that time. In my opinion, the children are not ready to absorb the added responsibilities. On the one hand, it is viewed by some that young children in school will benefit from early access to international news. Firstly, they believe that access to such news will help due to their long-lasting memory. This in, the long run, will prove to be a life-long companion, as it can open up avenues for higher education career planning by molding children from an early age. For instance, the name spread far and wide of Artificial Intelligence tools like ChatGPT helped many kids to work towards that pathway. Additionally, they come to know of the holistic working of the globe and consequently, the geopolitics driving socio-economic policies and its framework. On the other hand, it is believed by many that exposure to such worldly news from high school is an utter waste of their school time. Young children should instead utilize their time on other critical and necessary subjects for their career development like Physics, and Maths. Furthermore, learning at that age, is like hearing bedtime stories, as students have not yet thoroughly developed the necessary understanding and reasoning of global interaction. Moreover, informational news telecasted on different media like that of terrorism and other global issues can leave a deep and biased mark on their thought process and can cause a sense of insecurity among children, which proves to be a key reason, for losing faith in the society. In conclusion, while people may vary with their viewpoints, I am of the strong opinion to instead focus on sharpening skills on necessary life-supporting subjects and catch up with international news later in their lives.