Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a nagative development?

The amount of screen time of children is concerning many adults, since most of the hours of the day are spent on smartphones. This essay will discuss some of the reasons why this might be the case and present arguments, why, in my opinion, this is a negative development. The core of the problem lays down to parenting. I have seen numerous amount of times, when a child is given a gadget from an earlier age to calm down or as an option to spend time. This way a child learns that everytime he gets upset, he is given a smartphone to play. Furthermore, an addiction can be easily developt and in the future it will be hard for a person to stay away from his electronic device. Another reason might be social media, where most of the children's and teenager's communication happens. The temptation as well as the fear of missing something out is high, which leads to endless scrolling that increases the screen time a lot. When children play, they develop crucial social skills and creativity that are important for their future. However, the increased usage of smartphones effects on the quality of communication, since most of the messages sent are short and meaningless. Besides that, children through time will lack concentration, since their attention span will get shorter. This might in the future effect negatively their academic success. Therefore, I believe, children's increased time spent on smartphones, is definetely a negative development that effects their life in a long run. To conclude, children's usage of smartphones depends on the way they have been raised up at home. Most are offered gadgets to deal with hard feelings from an earlier age, resulting in concentration problems in the future.