Today, there a more and more relaity shows on television. Do these shows make good television? why or why not? Explain using specific reasons and examples

In contemporary society, many people gravitate towards reality television, making it a controversial topic of debate, as to whether it makes television more enjoyable or not. This essay will delve into the possible factors pertaining to the matter. Reality shows attract many individuals because of their authentic content. To exemplify, many shows are unscripted and recorded as events gradually unfold, making each programme more exciting to watch. Moreover, reality shows such as The Voice, American Idol and The X Factor focus more on talent and bring many hidden individuals to grow exponentially in many personal aspects and secure life-changing opportunities. Therefore, reality television arguably has a positive effect on modern society. However, reality shows can also encourage bad trends and provide an ideal platform to reach certain demographics. For instance, certain shows may promote styles of fashion inappropriate to certain cultures, countries and beliefs. People of the East, especially teenagers, are constantly scolded by parents and sometimes harassed sexually on the roads due to negative fashion trends. Furthermore, these programs are highly addictive, people spend more time in front of televisions and mobile devices rather than on certain priorities, which leads to procrastination. To conclude, although there are drawbacks to reality shows, they promote people's knowledge in some subjects and give a sense of pleasure most people need in modern times. It would be much better if governments could develop adequate laws to regulate the content in certain shows so everyone can enjoy these shows to their full potential.