Some people think that children should not watch television because it has negative effects, while others believe that televison helps children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often a concern for parents whether television will have more negative effects than positive ones on their children. In my opinion, if children are supervised while watching television, it has more benefits than drawbacks. People who believe that children should avoid watching television because of its negative aspects have every right to think this way. Out of parental concern, they don't want them to be exposed to disturbing content displayed on different channels. For example, there are various channels which showcase R-rated movies and songs that have cursive words in them. If they watch this kind of content, they will be influenced by it and they will start using that kind of language in their day-to-day lives. Therefore, it is of paramount importance for parents to supervise what their children are watching. Although, television does have its drawbacks that doesn't mean that it cannot be beneficial to children. It can stimulate their imagination, make them learn new vocabulary and learn lessons that they can apply further in their adult life. Almost every child has watched cartoons in their childhood such as Powerpuff Girls. The creators of this show have made the cartoon in such a way that kids learn different words in each episode of the show. Moreover, every episode has a new story with a new idea and by the end of the episode, children learn a positive lesson. For example, in one of the episodes, children learn that goodness always defeats evil. To conclude, watching television can have bad consequences on children's mental health as they can be disturbed by its content nevertheless under parental supervision, its positive effects outweigh them.