some people think that all university students should study whatever they want. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as science and technology

Selection of the programme that the person is going to enrol in at the university is one of the most important decisions and has a great influence on the future. Some people believe that students should study what they are interested in, while others think they should choose a programme that will help them in their future. This essay will discuss both arguments On the one hand, university students should be allowed to choose their preferred programme freely without any kind of pressure either from parents or anyone else. A student’s desire for a particular subject at the university plays an essential role in improving his academic achievement. That explains why students who love and enjoy their studying usually get better results on exams. Besides, nowadays, many pedagogical experts are encouraging parents to let their children make their own choices when it comes to the selection of university programme believing that it will impact positively on their future carer. On the other hand, there is no doubt that the world has changed since the past because of technological progression, and in order to keep up with these changes, it’s necessary to choose a university programme that can fulfil the advanced needs of the present time and the coming future. For instance, studying IT (information technology) is very trendy nowadays, and it can be considered one of the most successful university programmes especially after the widespread of modern technological innovations. In conclusion, in my opinion, giving the chance for the children to choose the subject they want can be more productive.