Some people think that several short holidays from school are better, while others think one long summer holiday for the year is better for children. Discuss both views and include your own opinion and relevant examples from your experience.

It is often argued that a longer summer break in school is more beneficial for children than various shorter ones; while there are many who claim otherwise including myself. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail and provide my personal opinion at the end. To begin with, the young can participate in more tasks during a long summer break. My school was closed for a month during the summer and during those thirty days, I used to plenty of activities such as swimming, piano, art or dance lessons; all of which are highly beneficial for children's growth. Also, studies have shown that a longer holiday causes children to relax properly in comparison to shorter terms. For instance, it used to take my infant body at least a week to completely rest before it started becoming active again. So it seems logical to make vacations more than a week. On the other hand, it is also possible to argue that schools should employ smaller frequent holidays for children instead. First, shorter breaks encourage children to remain active and return to school with a positive attitude. To illustrate, my friends used to sleep late as a child when there were no classes and then struggled to wake up early. Thus, it was easier for me to return to academia when the breaks were small. Second, shorter but frequent breaks are scientifically proven to be good for health. Scientists claim that it is important to refresh in intervals as opposed to one long break. This way the brain and the body are kept healthier and stronger. To conclude, although there are valid grounds for both views as a result of the aforementioned discussion; I think the benefits of a long summer break outweigh the benefits of a shorter holiday. When I was a child, I certainly enjoyed my school being closed for a long period of time at once.