Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today, to what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

School is an integral part of learning as students spend most of their time there. Some people argue that it is important for schools to teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. In my point of view, I strongly agree with that argument as finance is one of the foundational skills needed in daily life. To begin with, schools are supposed to teach basic life skills to the students such as leadership, cooking and finance. However, there is not enough teaching done to ensure students can survive once they graduate, especially in financial areas. For instance, there is limited knowledge shared about tax at schools. As a result, fresh graduates are often confused about how to calculate their net income, especially during their first job. At a certain scale, this might lead to a financial loss. As an example, I once almost chose a lower-paying job because I calculated the tax wrongly since some companies only state the gross amount of income, which was very confusing for me back then. Another benefit of teaching students fundamental finance is it enables them to avoid potential financial scams. According to the recent news, there is an increase in the crime rate in financial sectors, targeting those with limited understanding of financial instruments. For example, there are a lot of scams on the internet selling a certain financial instrument to people, claiming that it is risk-free. They focus on people with little amount of financial knowledge such as old people. The old people end up giving a certain amount of money in the hope that they will get huge returns in a certain period of time. However, at the end of the period, they are told that the investment failed and lost their money. If only people were familiar with financial basics, these kinds of scams could be avoided as no financial instruments are actually risk-free. In conclusion, I support the idea that students need to learn at schools how to financially survive, mainly because school is one of the main sources for learning. Additionally, having a sufficient understanding of finance will help people make better decisions in their lives.