Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

A great number of high school graduates decide to take a one year break to travel or find jobs to gain more work experience before enrolling in higher education. Even Though many people hold the view that it is time -consuming to take a year off, I believe if the time is used reasonably, taking time off to see the world is a great idea. On the one hand, there are several advantages to taking a gap year. Most importantly, having a year off to travel helps young adults to explore more different cultures from numerous regions. As a result, they can mature independently and have skills to cope with life’s problems. Moreover, having a job during a gap year may broaden student’s horizons and learn essential skills such as decision making, time management, problem solving and communicating,.. In addition to this, if you have enough experiences from going out to see the world, you can realize your passion and decide what field you want to study to facilitate your future career preparation. On the other hand, the disadvantages of pausing for a year should be taken into consideration. The most significant drawback is that it can be a distraction from further studies. If young adults finds out it is easy to earn money, they will value the job instead of the knowledge they can get from third-level education and their studying habits will be negatively affected. Furthermore, it is time -consuming if highschool graduates devote more time to relaxing and enjoying themselves all the time during the year off. Hence, students who choose to have one year off often suffer from boredom and get lost in their path of ambition. They will also feel depressed and aimless when seeing their peers succeed in their career. To conclude, taking a gap year before entering tertiary education could disrupt a student's ability to pursue their education. However, if the time is used wisely, skipping a year of studying can allow them to gain more knowledge and learn important skills.