Most countries spend lots of money on education as they start to recognise its importance. In your opinion which two following subjects are the most important for your people and which one is the least important?

It has been said that investing in education is investing in one's future: this is true for both individuals and nations. It is always somewhat subjective to say which is more important, the humanities or the sciences, as both have value. However, I would like to make a case for the importance of math and economics in this day and age. Let us begin with math. Mathematics is a foundation subject which bridges many different fields, from physics and chemistry to the Internet and modern medicine. All of our material advances in the 20th century could not have happened without advanced mathematics. To be sure, it will play a critical role in meeting challenges like global warming and space travel, to name just a few, in the future. Likewise, economics is a fundamental discipline that allows societies to be stable and move forward. History is full of examples of kingdoms and empires that collapsed as their economies declined. Most obviously, we need to look no further than the current economic meltdown to see the importance of economics. The jobs and well-being of individuals and nations alike depend upon a deeper understanding of this field. While all subjects have their merit, perhaps Geography does not have the same importance it once did. After all, in our modern world we have 3-D maps online that allow us to see anywhere with the click of a mouse. But to reiterate, we need a balanced approach to education where we still produce artists, thinkers, historians and so on. To summarize, math and economics are critical subjects in the 21st century. Governments must do their part to make sure we invest in these key areas and have qualified teachers. By doing so, they will ensure our prosperity and progress.