As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

The overwhelming popularity of internet means that every information is now at people's fingertips, potentially risking traditional informative items like newspapers turn obsolete. While I mostly concur with the idea of digital platforms supplanting physical copies, I would also like to acknowledge the fact that there are still many families, and institutions like libraries, who still keep the print reading culture alive. Internet offers wide-ranging services to its customers largely because of its flexibility, accessibility, and arguably infinite space. This allows it to cover not only a plethora of ideas ranging from politics, to science, to sports, to culture and gossips, but also the immediate breaking news. Newspapers, on the other hand, can only offer limited stories owing t0 their fixed daily quota, and are disappointingly rigid to their timeline (who wants to wait a night to learn about a plane crash!), either way failing to cater to the needs of a fast-paced modern individual. Moreover, the advent of internet-connected, pocket-sized mobile phones have made newspapers look clumsy and ironically unportable, causing their fall-off among a significant chunk of current readers. A recent report about Kantipur, Nepal's largest selling national daily, losing 23 percent of its subscription past year clearly underscores the print edition's dwindling popularity. However, newspapers are not yet dinosaurs. There are still members in families who cherish and live to the notion of seating in an armchair skimming through their favorite paper, while taking a sip of coffee in a warm sunny morning; furthermore, many inquisitive readers are seen ruminating over the physical copies, sometimes even from the distant past, in well-documented vaults of public libraries; both instances meaning that the paper reading tradition is still breathing. In conclusion, while some individuals and institutions still revere and try to preserve the idea of physical newspapers, I believe that those versions are precipitously losing their selling points among a significant segment of contemporary readers.