There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world has shown remarkable progress from the Stone Age to the world of technology. Every generation is getting more advanced and talented which has led to increasing competition in every aspect like acceptance in renowned universities, job opportunities, and many more. The prompt suggested that to cope, with the challenge students should be focused on only academic studies. I strongly disagree with the prompt due to two main reasons. Firstly, I agree that there is immense pressure to succeed in the field of academics for younger generations. However, it is not a trivial matter to identify a personal interest in any particular field. An individual is more likely to excel in any field when it aligns with their field of interest. If schools just limit the students to academics they might never get the opportunity to explore their interests in other non-academic tasks. As students are likely to rely on the schools and the teachers on such matters. So, it's important to include a wide range of topics in school creating an environment to identify one's interest. Further, everyone needs a break, moments to enjoy and live. The different activities besides the academics performed in the schools might act as a break from a monotonous studious environment. A fresh mind helps to capture the information more quickly increasing their efficacy. When the balance is strict between academic and non-academic activities it can boost their performance resulting in useful outputs. In conclusion, overall on a large scale, a more positive impact of non-academic activities can be observed in the younger generations. So removing it might lead to some unwanted consequences badly affecting the mental health of young students.