the best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is giving up to six years of free education, so that they can at least read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Poverty has become one of the main social issues in many developing countries. I disagree with this view point that teaching individuals reading, writing and using numbers within six years of free education, is the best way to reduce poverty. It is true that in order to reduce poverty, many economists are needed to be nurtured. Since economics is directly related to literacy and numeracy skills, it seems that the first step toward this goal is to provide an educational system where these skills can be acquired. As a result, the nurtured skillful economists can address solutions to the issue of poverty. Nonetheless, I think this view of solving financial problems of a country is very simple and superficial, because although the ability of reading, writing, calculating and counting are being taught in many developing countries for free, poverty is still pervasive in these societies. Iran, for instance, is a country possessing a quality free educational system and professional teachers, while struggling with growing inflations and increase of poverty. There are other useful solutions for poverty, such as creating more job opportunity and introducing an effective tax system. Firstly, the more job positions offered to individuals, especially the younger generation, the less people would be left unemployed and, as a result poverty would be lifted out of the society. The best-known example of this is China, one of the wealthiest countries in the world, succeeded in creating millions of jobs in recent years. Surprisingly, this country was ranked as the poorest country in 1980s. Furthermore, introducing taxes is another way to remove poverty, since the money would be fairly distributed within the society, avoiding widening gap between the poor and the rich. In conclusion, I believe there are better solutions to address poverty in developing countries than focusing on some basic skills.