The typical teaching situation of a teacher and students in the class will not exist by the year 2050. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the learning model in which students and teachers must go to school to access knowledge will be replaced by the year 2050. Although there are several reasons for this forecast, I believe that this kind of teaching model plays an indispensable role in students ’ acquisition of knowledge. On the one hand, advocates of this idea may have some rationales to argue that the year 2050 will not record the presence of the existing learning model. Firstly, the introduction of online learning platforms has enabled learners to access information regardless of physical barriers. For example, students in different countries can have access to a variety of knowledge from physics to arts with the clicks of the mouse, which facilitates learners from long distances. Moreover, recently, artificial intelligence (AI) has been introduced in educational sectors, which assesses students ’ learning process and then dispenses personalized instructions as well as feedback with astonishing accuracy rates. All of which used to be the functionality of teachers and therefore, the physical presence of educators has been questioned. However, although technology innovation offers learners a wide variety of knowledge, students may not comprehensively understand it. For example, whether an unemotional and rigid teaching machine can convey knowledge as efficiently as teachers whose teaching approach is varied to suit different types of students. They can be amiable and helpful to students who struggle with acquiring knowledge or strict to learners who slack off their studies. Furthermore, the learning process is not only the acquisition of theoretical knowledge but also practical skills. A classroom that includes the physical presence of students and teachers plays a role as a small-scale society and therefore students in the class have the opportunity to be exposed to different counterparts with different characteristics, therefore, improving their interpersonal skills and team-working skills. In conclusion, although the role of teachers and existing learning models are under threat due to technological innovation, I believe they can not be replaced because they bring about many benefits for students ’s academic performance and practical skills.