Has the importance of travel by water changed now from how it was in the past? Discuss these views and provide your opinion.

Nowadays, in this generation, all kinds of transportation is improved by technological advancement. In the past, travel by water was the main form of transportation used to move people and goods. However, now it has changed to better conditions such as, traveling by airplanes and cars. I would like to discuss both views in the following paragraphs. Firstly, in the past the only way to travel was by water using boats. Moreover, there were many people who passed away, while traveling by water, because it was really dangerous to travel by water. For instance, traveling via small wooden boats may not endure the turbulence of the waves, storms, high passenger loads and it cause deaths, drowning, conflicts from the poor nutrition and cramped living conditions on the ships. In addition, a number of folks also got lost in the middle of the sea because, many people fall overboard during big storms and less safety measures. Although, the food often ran short because the journeys were longer than anticipated, thus people died of starvation or developed serious illnesses caused by poor or a lack of nutrition. Even though traveling by water took a long time, perhaps a days, weeks or months. On the other hand, now the number of travelers by water are much less than in the past. But, if people want to travel by water they can use the modern electrical boat with all kinds of safety, which reduces the number of deaths. However, now the more popular travel transportation mode is airplanes, because the time taken for travel is substantially reduced. People can now travel from Saudi to England in six hours by plan rather than spending months to reach their destination by ship. Airplanes can travel above the seas without any limited danger for the people.   In conclusion, in my opinion, people are avoiding traveling by water more now than as in the past, whilst presently airplanes are the most important mode of traveling transportation for most people.