Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that education has an indispensable role to play in contemporary society. Some people harbor a belief that the goal of education is to foster social welfare, while others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is a controversial issue that deserves an in-depth discussion. On the one hand, the main argument in its favor is that education has extensive influence in enhancing society situation and advancement of the country. Also, modern education tends to focus on professional knowledge, which can contribute to huge economic capabilities. For instance, a knowledge-based economy is the most important economic development for Taiwan, such as technicians and engineers, which account for 38% of GDP. As a result, learning can prepare individuals for specialized professions that directly benefit society. On the other hand, some believe another purpose of education is as a means to achieve personal ambitions, it allows individuals to explore their potential and talents which can prepare for their future. For example, the Taiwan government is promoting adaptive education nowadays, which emphasizes personal development, instead of the aim of the traditional study as preparation for social contribution. Also, the Ministry of the Interior in Taiwan announced that the aim of education is to develop one's skills, knowledge and attitude. These indicate that education is not only focus on social development, also, provides opportunities for personal growth. In summary, while it can be argued that education has to contribute to public, I support the view that the aim of education is to achieve personal potential.