Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A lot of young people choose to spend their time one year after graduate from high school to work or studying before enrolling in university. The experience that they will get by doing these will be beneficial before returning to education. I totally agree with this as working and experiencing different cultures can help youngsters to find their passion and to understand themselves deeper which would help them in dealing with collage life. Passion is a crucial thing as it guides student in choosing their major. A lot of youths are struggling in choosing their field of study because they have not discovered their true passions. This could happen because the time they have in school is not enough to experience a lot of things. Taking a one-year break to do paid jobs or travelling will help students to find their passion because passion can be found by experiencing many things and meeting new peoples. For instance, if someone experience working part time in different companies with different responsibility, he/she can figure out which job he/she want to do in the future and what should be studied in university to get that job. On the other hand, working and travelling will help student to have better self-understand. It is because people learn a lot about our self when we face new challenge and try to figure out new things. For example, when planning for travelling to a different country, some people tend to arrange everything as early as possible and some doing overnight plan. This type of self-understanding will help student when dealing with a lot of challenge Change the form of the verb challenges show examples that they will have in university. In conclusion, taking a one-year gap is not a waste of time if it is used for doing paid work or travelling as it could lead to finding passion and self-understanding.